Snooping in my daughter’s room

Because that’s what I do.  I snoop in her room sometimes just to make sure there’s nothing blatantly going on that needs to be addressed.  Her room is messy, as usual.  However, on the floor by her chair, I see a folder entitled “[Princess]’s Poetry Folder – English”.  Apparently it was a section they were working on in English.  I open it to look at the poems inside and I find this:

“Sally [that’s me], sometimes your temper is buzzing.
But you can be really sweet to.
You are sweet and funny and you have small feet.
I love it when you laugh.
You love to be on the computer and I ask if I can
play on the internet.
You are so funny and cute as a bunny.
I am glad you don’t hiss and only kiss.
I love when you are happy and I love your pappy.
The size of your feet doesn’t matter though.
‘It doesn’t matter when you get batter
on the floor, but please wipe it up.’
You take me to King’s Island
and other fun places, you have a fast pace
it is hard to keep up.
I love to be around you.
You are fun to jetski with just like daddy.
You sometimes hop just for fun,
so do I.
I hope you have a happy time.”

I am in tears.  I have never known her to actually use me as a subject for any kind of writing in class and I think it is sweet that she wrote this about me.  I can’t stop crying and I can’t wait for her to get home.  I just want to love that kid up.

Leave a Reply

