My Therapist Says…

So, my therapist felt the need today to provide me with a reality check.

Apparently…

1)  I speak very rapidly.

2)  I interrupt and cut people off when they speak.

3)  I do not make eye contact when I am communicating, presumably because I am formulating the next thing I’m going to say rather than listening to the other person speak.

4)  I generally do not listen well, as I tend to cut in and make assumptive statements about what I think the other person is going to say next and often get the wrong idea of what they are trying to say.

5)  I often assume the negative when I am jumping to said conclusions.

Apparently…

These are all symptoms of ADD.  They could be making it hard to communicate with me.

Also, they could be rubbing off on Lola and making her behave the way I am worrying about.

Also, she says that I escalate when I am talking and that can make people anxious or nervous around me.  I am exhausting.

So now, I think I will shut up. 

I am not so much mad as I am stunned because I can definitely see her point.  I hate it when the therapist points something out about you that sucks.  LOL.  So now I am processing this information and hopefully will work on my listening skills.  However, what does one do when your ADD medication makes these traits even more apparent?  Adderall makes me talk even more.  Hm.

I just feel like crying, because I don’t know what I should do.  If I should do anything other than take it under consideration and try to be more aware of it for future reference.  It just seems like more proof that no one wants to hear what I have to say, anyway.

But I guess it will make me want to journal more because I’m just going to shut the fuck up in real life.  I was running out of people to share my innermost thoughts with anyway.  Trust me on that one.  It’s just Hubby…and this journal now, anyway.  And I could see Hubby telling me to shut the fuck up too, eventually.  Especially if I keep interrupting him, cutting him off, and jumping to asshole conclusions.

Leave a Reply

