Doctor Results

Well, I am returned from the doctor’s office.  According to her, my dizziness, head pains when I bend over double, and such are caused by benign paroxysmal positional vertigo.  I also have rosacea, and a muscle spasm issue with my hands and feet.  I was thinking I’ve gained a bunch of weight, but apparently I’m only 1 lb heavier this year than I was at this time last year.  Just to be sure, the doctor is sending me to get a complete blood screen to make sure there isn’t anything else going on.  She feels pretty sure about the vertigo though, and prescribed me Antavert or something like that, but I only have to take it on really dizzy days.

She did say she wasn’t concerned that weight gain was causing any of my problems right now, but that I would definitely feel better if I lost 10 to 20 lbs.  That’s what I like about my doctor, she doesn’t ride me about it, she is honest about it, but she doesn’t assume all my problems stem from my weight, and she concedes that you can weigh quite a bit more than the national average and still be very healthy (not that I’m saying I’m one of those people). 

But like I said previously today, I am definitely going to do what I can to lose some weight.  I am going to start with trying to lose 5 lbs.  We’ll see.  As of March 1 I will not be drinking any soda, NONE, until May 31.  If I succeed (When I succeed), I hope that the desire to drink the soda will have dissipated and I will have gotten used to doing without it.  I am considering giving up chocolate.  Not all candy right now (I think that would be too much too soon for me), just chocolate, because it also has caffeine.  Caffeine is a major contributor to a lot of my problems, including this rosacea, so I think if I go a few weeks without it and I notice a decrease in the rosacea, then I know what triggers it. 

For the cramps in my hands and feet, she said I should try to take calcium/magnesium, and get more potassium.  No problem, I can do that.

We also discussed the things in the food I eat, like nitrates, etc.  I am considering going to  Whole Foods Market and buying a few things organic, and slowly switch us over to organic food.  I have to get used to whole wheat products instead of refined flours, so that is going to take me a while to get used to.  I figure I’ll start with bread and maybe whole wheat spaghetti noodles.  I don’t eat much in the way of crackers or anything.  I’m not a big potato chip eater.  I do like cookies and cakes…but really I shouldn’t be eating those a great deal.  I like sweet stuff, maybe they’ll have some snacks that will work, at the organic grocer.  Refined sugars have to go, too.  But I am just going to do a little bit at a time. 

Do you guys think I can lose 5 lbs by April 1?  If you are all in on it, I could definitely find more motivation!  Why don’t you guys be my online coaches?  It would really help.

If I get a few people who are willing to check on me on here and send me encouragement, I will try to get from 190.5 to 185.5 by April 1.  If I get more, then all the better!  At that point, I can make another goal.  If I lose the 5 lbs before April 1, then maybe I’ll set a new goal from that point.

Love,

CG

One thought on “Doctor Results

  1. Stress doesn’t help my rosacea. Extreme changes in temperature (being outside in the cold then coming into a warm house) will do my poor face in too.

    I think five pounds is defintely do-able by April 1st. Just quitting the soda (I’m guessing you drink the real stuff and not diet) will make an incredible difference. I think you should do more dancing around the house too … with purpose.

Leave a Reply

