Christmas Decorations, etc.

Current mood: accomplished

So last night I pretty much finished my living/dining room project.  There are a few little things that need to be taken care of but mostly, it’s done.  I purged, cleaned, reorganized, etc., and then we put up our Christmas decorations.  I took some pictures so you could see what I’m dealing with as far as this room and it’s size and the many functions it is supposed to serve.  I was up till about 2 working on all this and taking the pictures, and I had this whole entry done with the pictures on it, etc., and MySpace had a weird thing and logged me out so I lost my entry.  I was too tired and upset to do anything about it, because just as I was finishing the entry, Lola fell out of my bed.  She was in there sleeping with her Daddy, and apparently he doesn’t sleep with one eye open when she’s in the bed with him like I do, and he didn’t see her roll towards my side of the bed, and then off.  She busted her lip.  My poor little baby.  Really, it’s my fault.  Usually the one who is not in the bed puts pillows on their side so the baby won’t roll overboard.  I held her and comforted her.  She drank some milk and went right back to sleep.  But I felt horrible and guilty.  No one likes to see their baby with blood on their lips 😦

But this morning she is happy and enchanted with the Christmas tree.  She didn’t notice it much last year but this year it is fascinating.  We put the gate up around it so she couldn’t get in there to mess with stuff, but before we did we let her look and explore a bit.  She was pretty gentle with the ornaments and didn’t really try to take them off the tree.  Her lip is a bit fat but not too bad.  Right now she is sitting next to me while I’m typing this and she is trying to hit keys and so every sentence I’ve typed thus far I’ve had to correct about 7 times each. 

So, anyway, do you want to see my living/dining/office/library/play room?

Here goes:

..
This is the Christmas tree.

..
This the tree with the lights off in the room.  It is kind of blurry, because I don’t know what I’m supposed to do when I’m taking photos without the flash.  Forgive my amateur efforts.  My husband could have done much better, but as we know, he was asleep.

..
Another photo of our Christmas tree.  We bought a new one after Christmas last year, this one has 1000 white lights in it, so we didn’t have to deal with the strings of lights this year.  Yay.

..
This is a view of the living/play area from the dining/office/library area (LOL).  Not much room, is there?  Well anyway, I moved the couch to those windows.  Notice the tent next to the couch.  That is a little pup tent that we bought for Lola.  She loves it right now, so for the time being, it’s going to be in the living area.  As you can see, the room has a lot of windows, not a lot of solid wall space.  But I like these windows.  The wooden sills and trim is the original from when the house was built in 1921.  We installed the pergo ourselves.  Notice my pink walls and the cream colored curtains (which I made).  I love a man that will let his wife paint the main room of the house pink.  That’s a man secure in his masculinity.

..
This is a dresser I use for storage.  I painted it myself.  It was hideous before.  The top has some Christmas decorations on it.  Hopefully Lola will leave it alone. 

..
This is our new cat, Blaze, under the tree.  This is his first Christmas tree, so he is examining it carefully.  He’s quite good at climbing inside it.

..
Blaze is transfixed by the lights and dangling little temptations.

..
This is a shot of the office/library area.  I know it looks extremely packed.  But if you had seen it before, you could appreciate the miracle I have wrought.  Everything has a zone and although it seems a mess, it’s an “organized” mess.  Note the little gate on the right side of the desk.  It is attached to the desk and the side of the bookcase.  Everything that we need to keep Lola out of goes over there, including all the cords for the computer.

..
Our stocking hanger and stockings. Isn’t it CUTE?

..
A close up of the decorations on the dresser.  I know it’s cheesy.  But it’s all we have and the kids like it.

..
These are the bows I recycled from some curly ribbons I put on the tree normally.  They had lost their curl and so I am using to tie my curtains.  I think they are purty.

..
This is my dining hutch.  I hate my dining hutch.  But when I removed all the “dining” accoutrements, and used it instead to showcase my photographs, I like it much better.  Anything that holds something I love, photos of my favorite people, can’t be all bad. 

..
A close up of the photos of my loved ones.  This is only a drop in the bucket to what I actually have.  Yes, the tinsel is cheesy but Princess loves it so we continue to put it up.

..
Best Buddies – the world’s ugliest Christmas dog and the bear whose fur makes Sister-in-law’s skin crawl.

..
This is my Christmas angel candle thing.  When the candle inside her is burning, it looks like rays of light coming off her.  Kewl.

..
This is my Christmas cottage candle thingy.  When the candles inside it are burning, it looks like the lights are on in the house and you can see it in the windows.  Cute.

..
Decorations on top of our TV.

..
A shot from the living/play area towards the dining/office/library area.  It’s cluttered, but it’s home.

..
A shot of the living area from the other end of the room.  Maybe you can appreciate the space issue we have here.

..
Here is a shot of the outside front of my house.  I was trying to show how my Christmas tree looks from the window but it doesn’t show too good. 

..
This is another shot of the front of my house.  It is modest and not much really, but we love it and it’s our first house we have owned and we love it.  I love pulling into the driveway and seeing the lights pour out of the windows.

..
This is my beloved tulip tree when she is butt naked.  I bet she is cold.  I just like how her branches look.  I bet she is an Ent.

..
A shot through the windows from up on the porch.  My house looks cozy.

..
This is my front door, my house number is obscured for my own protection.

So there you have it.  A partial home tour for you.  When I finish my work in the other rooms, I will show you them too, if you are interested.  I think I did an ok job considering how much functionality is supposed to be crammed into that one little room.  Feng Shui masters would swoon probably, though.

CG

Leave a Reply

