Fibromyalgia

So. I have Fibromyalgia. While not a death sentence, which is really good, I am still in the first phase of realizing this condition is what has been going on with me. I suffer from almost every symptom. What amazes me is that my near-constant fatigue is a large symptom of the condition. Hopefully accepting this will help me to be a bit kinder to myself that I do not seem to have the energy to accomplish all my perfectionist mind expects me to.

I am very sad about it, but I feel better knowing what is wrong with me. Now, I have to learn to cope with it and make the best of the situation.

One of the biggest things that I feel sad about is that I am always suffering a lot of physical pain and have been for some time, and an overwhelming fatigue and depression, but the cause being fibromyalgia, I am afraid some people will feel is not a big deal, that I am being a crybaby. That makes me feel really isolated, I cannot share how I feel for fear of being thought of as a complainer.

I hope that I can expand my own understanding of the condition so that I do not feel so horrible about having it. I suppose it is better than rheumatoid arthritis, which is just as painful, but also causes disfiguring of the joints and body. In any case, all the things I’ve read definitely point out that it is not a terminal illness. But a life long sentence of pain isn’t exactly something to rejoice about.

I am feeling a bit of self pity. I loathe myself for it, so I will close now.