A Saturday Meme

I feel like expressing myself, but I don’t feel clever enough to come up with something on my own, so I stole this from Mimi.

First Name: Sally

Were you named after someone? I am the third Sally Elizabeth in my family. I was directly named after my paternal grandmother.

Do you wish on stars? Whenever I get a chance to be outside and see them.

When was the last time you cried? On Thursday. Princess hurt my feelings. In and of itself what happened wasn’t a big deal, but it seemed to be an accumulation of small hurts she has inflicted on me the last few months that boiled over. And so we enter pre-teendom.

Do you like your handwriting? Most of the time. It’s straight and symmetrical (unlike my body).

What is your favorite lunch meat? I adore oven-roasted turkey, sliced thin. I also like hard salami.

What is your birth date? October 29.

What is your most embarrassing CD? Some people would think it would be my “Weird Al” Yankovic collection, but I’m not embarrassed of any of my music collection. I don’t care if other people don’t like it, but I love Julio Iglesias, the Bee Gees, Bread, America, LL Cool J, Public Enemy, George Strait, Lorenna McKennitt–pretty much all music other than death metal and most ganster rap.

If you were another person, would YOU be friends with you? There are a lot of people in the world, and it would depend on what “other” person I would be. If I was my husband’s ex-best-friend’s wife, I definitely wouldn’t be friends with me. Just not compatible. But if I were SIL or Tiffy or Kitty, I definitely would be, because we are like peas in a pod, and I appreciate friends who love me for who I am, not who they want me to be. I don’t ask anything of my friends other than to be themselves, enjoy the time we spend together and not make unfair demands on me.

Are you a daredevil? Yes, most of the time. I’m not so daring when it comes to my emotional life–I’ve been hurt too much; but I guess I am a risk-taker when compared to others even in that arena, I did move to Michigan and leave everything I knew to invest in a new relationship. I am so glad I did, almost 7 years later.

Have you ever told a secret you swore not to tell? Yes. But if I told you about what I told, then I would be telling the secret again, and I won’t.

How do you release anger? I cry. I storm. I rage. I write. I talk. I listen to music and sing.

Where is your second home? I would say anywhere Lois, Tiffy, Jim and Nate are.

Do you trust others easily? No. I will give people a chance even if I don’t trust them, I let people earn my trust. But I don’t let my guard down until I can see they are trustworthy. I’ve been hurt and betrayed too many times.

What class in high school do you think was totally useless? I think that depends on who you ask. I have actually used knowledge from every class I took in high school. And although P.E. isn’t academic, I wish I’d participated more than I did. I felt it useless then; but then, I was thin and gorgeous and thought it would last forever. Now, I wish I had learned more sports and a healthier lifestyle.

Do you have a journal? Yes, I have my online journal and a paper journal.

Do you use sarcasm a lot? No, never. That would be mean. (just in case you didn’t notice, that was sarcasm).

Would you bungee jump? Absolutely not. I’m not that much of a daredevil.

Do you untie your shoes when you take them off? No.

Do you think that you are strong? I am soft, yet flexible. I can stretch to the limit, yet not break. I think true strength is to be able to have the courage to say you’re scared, you’re hurting or overwhelmed. But if you admit to those things and keep going, then you are strong. Since I do that, I’d say I’m strong.

What’s your favorite ice cream flavor? Chocolate

Shoe Size? 7.5

What is your least favorite thing about yourself? I allow other people’s bad moods to affect mine.

Who do you miss most? Lois and Tiffy, and Kitty, and Tracy, and Nicole, and Dara, and Kat. A lot of my loved ones are far away.

What color pants and shoes are you wearing? Brown pants, Black shirt with brown, burgundy, cream, and peach dots. Peach dragonfly necklace and earrings. I’m so cute.

What are you listening to right now? The theme to “Danny Phantom” cartoon, and a rainstorm.

Last thing you ate? Fruity Pebbles.

If you were a crayon, what color would you be? Emerald Green

What is the weather like right now? Rain stormy, damp and lush.

Last person you talked to on the phone? My husband, telling me what time to meet the Succubus for Princess’s visitation.

First Concert you attended? Three Dog Night with my family; on my own, Tears for Fears.

Last Concert you attended? I think it was Clint Black.

(I added this one) Best Concert you attended? Far and away, it was the Pink Floyd concert promoting the Division Bell album.

Celebrity Crushes? Antonio Banderas, Viggo Mortensen, Alan Rickman, and Elijah Wood (beautiful eyes). I also secretly adore Catherine Zeta-Jones, Kate Winslet (I don’t lust them, I just think they are beautiful and curvy and so unique.

The first thing you notice about the opposite sex? Eyes–are they pretty and does he have an honest look? Is he clean and does he smell good? Is he friendly and outgoing?

Favorite Drink? Dr. Pepper.

Favorite Sport? To play, baseball or badminton.

Favorite TV show? Gilmore Girls, American Chopper, and VH1’s “I love the” 70’s, 80’s, 90’s shows. I also like watching Celebrity Fit Club. I love Toccara! Plus Size Gorgeous!

Favorite Movie? There are too many to name.

Last cd purchased/burned? The Best of Bread.

Hair Color? Auburn brown with approximately 60% gray. I usually color it red, but haven’t gotten around to it lately. It is so salt-and-pepper, I’m thinking if I grew it out, it might be quite striking.

Eye Color? I always say “beer bottle brown”, but really, it reminds me of stained glass brown, it looks like it is brown glass with a light behind it. Kind of orangey brown.

Do you wear contacts? No, I wear glasses.

Favorite Food? Probably pizza for regular day-to-day life, but I love to go to Benihanas for steak and rice, etc. That is my ultimate favorite food.

Last Movie You Watched? Balto.

Scary Movies or Happy Endings: Oh, happy endings, definitely.

Summer Or Winter? Summer and Fall.

Hugs or Kisses? Both with Hubby. Hugs with everyone else, possibly a kiss on the cheek for really close people. Kisses are too intimate for everyone. If you kiss everyone, then they aren’t special anymore.

What Is Your Favorite Dessert? Hot fudge cake.

Living Arrangements? Married and living with our 2 daughters.

What Books Are You Reading? Just finished “The Red Tent” by Anita Diamante (I highly recommend), and I’m reading “Mama Gena’s School of Womanly Arts” by Regena Thomashauer right now. Excellent so far!

How Many Candles Were On Your Last Birthday Cake? 31

What Did You Watch Last night on TV? Law and Order back to back on TNT, and then VH1’s 40 Least Metal Moments.

Who Was the Last Person You Kissed? My husband, this morning when he left for work.

Favorite Smells? My baby, my husband, and my mommy.

What’s the furthest you’ve been from home? Hawaii

What’s your biggest indulgence? Candy.

If You Could Be Anywhere Right Now, Where Would You Be? In Hawaii, with my hubby and kids.

Leave a Reply

