What a Difference a Day Makes…

I feel much better today. It’s amazing what happens when your spouse actually listens to you and even if you’re wrong or just plain angry for stupid reasons, they still love you to distraction.

I’m lucky that way.

A sort of financial windfall has also cheered me up a bit too. As most of you know, I left my job permanently at the end of October. I have really enjoyed being a full-time family needs provider, but I do miss having money to do things I want to do. I am open to having little side jobs here and there to make some cash, even after the baby. What would be great would be a part time job that I could have the baby there with me! If I put that desire out there into the universe, maybe I’ll get lucky!

At any rate, the person who replaced me at my job lasted 2 months and then ran screaming from the premises never to return. I could tell this chick wasn’t going to go the distance, God love her.

So my old boss called and begged me to come in for a week to train the new person they are hiring. I will get paid for a 40 hour week even if I don’t work 40 hours. That is pretty darn cool, if you ask me. Plus, I am sure that there will be other perks to being there, friends to lunch with, etc.

I will be doing that the week of the 17th. I can definitely use the moolah. Plus, it is snowing, so Bat will have some snowplowing to do over the next couple of days. We are both pleased with this opportunity.

We got a piddling amount of snow this morning, nothing I would have considered earth-shattering, yet our local school district closed school so Princess is home with me today. And she has been invaluable. I made her work for a whole hour today. LOL. She learned to use the vacuum today. This has been something the girl has been terrified of for the entire time I have known her. But I really needed her help, so today, she learned to operate the vacuum. She vacuumed the basement office/wRECk room, living room area rug, and the area rug in my bedroom. She vacuumed the little throw rugs around the house too. I could tell she felt like she had really accomplished something by overcoming her fear of the vacuum. And I felt like I could do yoga on the living room rug for the first time in weeks. Yay Princess!

[Side bar–I hate that song by The Outfield “Your Love”. What a jerk!!! I mean, I just wanna use your love tonight, my girlfriend’s out of town so be my bed buddy until she gets back, you’re a good slut, lets get it on. Ewww!]

Back to how awesome Princess is. She helped me carry all the laundry downstairs to the laundry room, and she cleaned her room, and made her own lunch. She rocks. She is upstairs getting showered and then she is free to continue doing what she was doing before she did chores for an hour — watching TV and snoozing and playing with her dolls. I am so grateful she has such a good attitude and will help me here and there around the house, I don’t try to overwork her, I usually just give her little jobs to do while I’m doing the rest of the work. I don’t know what I’d do without her, especially right now.

It’s 3 p.m., and my hubby will be coming home from work in a couple of hours, and I can’t wait. I miss him a lot when he is gone during the day. He is so unbelievably good to me, I am so grateful for him too.

I am going to get some more stuff done– some paperwork and bill stuff.

Have a great day, everyone!

Leave a Reply

