Are You Bona Fide?

Well, I thought I’d just update and tell you guys about a couple things that have happened recently.

As any of my regular readers know, I have been trying to get pregnant for a few months, with not much luck. It’s ok, I am enjoying the trying part. Anyway, I keep thinking I’m pregnant, and I’m not.

The last 3 months, I have been working out almost daily, taking my vitamins, drinking lots of water, quit caffeine, and am trying hard to eat better. I take that last part one day at a time, but I am proud of what I’ve done. I haven’t lost any weight, but I do know that I am more toned and definitely more flexible. My general wellbeing has been good, and my energy level is much improved. I am almost jumping out of bed at 5:45 a.m. each morning to do my morning workouts, when just a month or so ago, I couldn’t manage to drag my butt out of bed before 6:20. I have given myself over a half hour of “me time” at the beginning of each day and it really does seem to make me feel better.

OK…female talk follows about periods and such. So prepare yourself, men who read my diary.

The past week or so, all of a sudden, I’m very, very tired. I have phantom pains around the ovaries. I felt really down in the dumps and lost all my motivation to work out, which I had begun to really enjoy. I also let my FlyLady system get behind at home. I slept a whole lot. So of course, my mind starts going, “Am I pregnant?” I took a pregnancy test on Thursday. Negative. That afternoon, I started bleeding lightly. This usually happens when I take a pregnancy test, I’ll start my period that day. Probably psychological. Anyway, my normal menstrual pattern is to have very light bleeding one day, then nothing for 2 days, and then a regular period for 4-6 days. So I figured I was starting my regular pattern. No. As of today, I have had light spotting literally every other day. The between days, nothing. No sign of any bleeding having occurred. And it wasn’t normal period bleeding.

As I mentioned yesterday, I had some very bad pains on Sunday and I commented to Hubby, that it reminded me of some ovarian cysts I had when I was younger. I hadn’t had them for a while. Pretty much since I started taking “the pill.” But I couldn’t be sure, because it wasn’t debilitating to me like it was in the past.

So yesterday, I finally got fed up with the weirdness and not knowing if I was pregnant or not, or if something was the matter with me. So I made an OB/Gyn appointment. I went to the doctor, and she examined me. After having a blood pregnancy test, it was determined I was not pregnant. My Gyn is fairly certain that I did have a cyst, but it ruptured over the weekend which would explain all my symptoms this past week. Apparently, the fatigue and general malaise was from the cyst flaring up and then the dizziness and pain this weekend was the actual rupture of the cyst. The tiredness and bleeding are part of the cyst issue too.

My Gyn and I discussed my trying to get pregnant at length. We came up with a plan of action. I have to go back for my annual exam in July. Between now and then, Hubby and I are going to buy one of those ovulation predictor kits so that we can know for sure when (or if) I am ovulating. That should help us improve our chances of conception. I am also going to track my basal body temperature each day. My Gyn indicated that if I was not pregnant by July’s appointment, then we would take other actions to “up the ante”. We would check out Hubby’s swimmers to make sure they are swimming, and if I am not ovulating for some reason, we will do what we need to do to get my eggs popping out of there.

I feel like I am going to get pregnant now. I don’t know why. My Gyn empowered me so much yesterday, I am ready to get down to business.

My Gyn is a wonderful woman, and I am so lucky to have found her. I’m never switching. She roxxxx.

+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+=+

On an unrelated subject….Last night, Hubby, princess and I watched “Oh Brother, Where Art Thou?” One of our favorite movies. And once again, Hubby and I marveled and agreed that George Clooney’s character, Ulysses Everett McGill, IS in fact based on my own paterfamilias, my dad. It is uncanny. The way he looks, talks, acts, everything. Down to the hair treatment and being vain about his looks. Being that my parents are true southerners, even his turn of phrase is my dad to a T. Its funny the way this character makes his smarmy little comments to his friends and finds them so amusing—it’s funny because that is the way all of my siblings and myself act, and my parents as well.

You should have known my dad when he was younger. He was a ball of fire, he was so funny and charming. He’s still funny and charming, but the problems he has have dulled that part of his personality a lot.

I do love that movie. It makes me happy. Everett’s wife (played by Holly Hunter), cracks me up because she reminds me of my brother’s first wife, Kay. “He’s bona fide. What are you?” “I’m the G.D paterfamilias!”

That’s one of the things I like going around saying. He’s bona fide! Are you bona fide?

Well, that’s all I have for today. Thanks for listening.

Leave a Reply

